Kumon Institute of Education Co., Ltd.
Kumon Institute of Education Co., Ltd. is a privately held Japanese education company headquartered at Kumon Kyoiku Kaikan, 5-6-6 Nishinakajima, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 532-8511, Japan. Founded in 1958 and incorporated in 1962, Kumon is unlisted and has no ticker; its listing venue is private. For the fiscal year ended March 31, 2026, consolidated net sales were 96,760 million JPY (about US$636.6 million at 1 USD = 152.00 JPY), consolidated ordinary income was 19,162 million JPY (about US$126.1 million), and net income is not disclosed in the company filings. Scale facts include 3,607 employees and a brand portfolio spanning the Kumon Method, SAIDO Learning, Kumon Publishing, KUMON TOY, and Kumon Penmanship and Calligraphy.
Strengths: Kumon benefits from a long operating history dating to 1958, a recognizable method-based education brand, and a diversified portfolio that includes math, native-language, and foreign-language programs plus SAIDO Learning, publishing, educational merchandise, and penmanship. The private, unlisted ownership structure may support long-term program development without public-market pressure. Reported fiscal 2025 net sales of 96,760 million JPY and ordinary income of 19,162 million JPY indicate a large-scale education operation with positive ordinary profitability.
Weaknesses: Kumon’s company filings provides no net income, assets, market capitalization, or revenue-mix data, limiting visibility into bottom-line profitability, balance-sheet strength, and segment dependence. As a private unlisted company, Kumon has no public share price or ticker and therefore less public disclosure than listed peers. Country coverage and detailed financial history are also absent, and the available multiyear figures are reported as null, which constrains trend analysis.
Read MoreShow Less
Kumon Institute of Education Co., Ltd. is a privately held Japanese education company headquartered at Kumon Kyoiku Kaikan, 5-6-6 Nishinakajima, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 532-8511, Japan. Founded in 1958 and incorporated in 1962, Kumon is unlisted and has no ticker; its listing venue is private. For the fiscal year ended March 31, 2026, consolidated net sales were 96,760 million JPY (about US$636.6 million at 1 USD = 152.00 JPY), consolidated ordinary income was 19,162 million JPY (about US$126.1 million), and net income is not disclosed in the company filings. Scale facts include 3,607 employees and a brand portfolio spanning the Kumon Method, SAIDO Learning, Kumon Publishing, KUMON TOY, and Kumon Penmanship and Calligraphy.
Strengths: Kumon benefits from a long operating history dating to 1958, a recognizable method-based education brand, and a diversified portfolio that includes math, native-language, and foreign-language programs plus SAIDO Learning, publishing, educational merchandise, and penmanship. The private, unlisted ownership structure may support long-term program development without public-market pressure. Reported fiscal 2025 net sales of 96,760 million JPY and ordinary income of 19,162 million JPY indicate a large-scale education operation with positive ordinary profitability.
Weaknesses: Kumon’s company filings provides no net income, assets, market capitalization, or revenue-mix data, limiting visibility into bottom-line profitability, balance-sheet strength, and segment dependence. As a private unlisted company, Kumon has no public share price or ticker and therefore less public disclosure than listed peers. Country coverage and detailed financial history are also absent, and the available multiyear figures are reported as null, which constrains trend analysis.
In the press
All coverage →3 latest headlines2- Kumon Group Publishes 64th Annual Report Highlighting 96,760 Million Yen in Consolidated Net Sales and 3.51 Million Subject Enrollments Across 61 Countrieskumongroup.com2026-06-01
- Kumon Institute of Education Releases FY2025 Consolidated Financial Statement Summary and Group Operational Updatekumongroup.com2026-03-01
- Kumon Advances Environmentally Friendly Logistics and Forest Conservation Initiatives Across Global Operationskumongroup.com2025-06-01
• Kumon Institute of Education Co., Ltd. is a privately held Japanese education company founded in 1958 and incorporated in 1962
• Headquarters at Kumon Kyoiku Kaikan, 5-6-6 Nishinakajima, Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 532-8511, Japan
• Unlisted, with no share price or market capitalization disclosed
• Employs 3,607 people
Financials – FY results as of March 31, 2026
• Consolidated net sales of 96,760 million JPY
• Consolidated ordinary income of 19,162 million JPY
• Financials reported in JPY; conversion basis 1 USD = 152.00 JPY as of 2026-10
• FY2025 revenue recorded at 96.76 billion local revenue 96.76
Brands – portfolio
• Kumon Method covering Math, Native Language and Foreign Language
• SAIDO Learning
• Kumon Publishing
• KUMON TOY educational merchandise
• Kumon Penmanship and Calligraphy
Industry – sector & positioning
• Classified within Life & Services
• Operates as a private education company in Japan
• Revenue base concentrated in the Kumon Method instructional brand
• No assets or net income figures disclosed in the company filings
Quick Facts
Headquarters
Osaka, Japan
Founded
1958
Employees
3,607
Factories
Franchised learning centres in 60+ countries and regions
Presence
60+ countries and regions
Listing
Private
Data Sources & Methodology
This corporate profile is compiled from publicly available sources including company annual reports, SEC/regulatory filings, official press releases, and verified third-party industry databases. Financial figures reflect the most recent fiscal year disclosures and are cross-validated across multiple independent references.
VerityRank Score is calculated using a proprietary multi-dimensional model evaluating market presence, financial strength, operational scale, innovation capacity, and brand influence. Individual dimension scores are normalized against industry peers and updated quarterly.
Disclaimer: This profile is for informational purposes only. VerityRank makes no warranties regarding completeness or timeliness. This content does not constitute investment advice or endorsement.
Key references: Official Website
