
Greenyard NV
Greenyard
Greenyard NV is a Belgian fresh and long-life fruit and vegetable group based at Strijbroek 10, 2860 Sint-Katelijne-Waver, and it was founded in 1983 by Hein Deprez. Its present shape came from the 2015 merger of Univeg, Greenyard Foods and PeatInvest. The group reports in three divisions: Greenyard Fresh for fresh produce sourcing and distribution, Greenyard Frozen for IQF frozen vegetables and fruit, and Greenyard Prepared for added-value and ambient products, with Bakker a Greenyard company and Pinguin a Greenyard frozen brand. The financial year ends on 31 March, so AY 24/25 covers the year ended 31 March 2025.
Greenyard is no longer listed. A voluntary and conditional cash offer at EUR 7.40 per share was made through Garden S.a r.l., a newly incorporated Luxembourg holding company controlled by the founders' Deprez family and supported by Solum Partners LP, a US food and agriculture investment manager. A simplified squeeze-out ran from 14 August to 4 September 2025, 1,362,295 shares representing 2.64% of the company were tendered, all Greenyard shares were automatically delisted from Euronext Brussels on 4 September 2025, and Garden announced on 5 September 2025 that it had reached 100% and paid. The former ticker GREEN and ISIN BE0003765790 no longer trade, and the company remains a naamloze vennootschap under Belgian law, KBO/CBE 0402.777.157.
On 21 May 2025 Greenyard reported AY 24/25 results: reported sales of EUR 5,363.1 million, like-for-like net sales of EUR 5,330.3 million, up 5.1%, adjusted EBITDA of EUR 183.0 million at a 3.4% margin, a net loss of EUR 2.9 million against a EUR 15.2 million profit a year earlier, EPS of minus EUR 0.09, leverage of 1.86x and net financial debt excluding leases of EUR 256.5 million. The board proposed no dividend. Fresh contributed EUR 4,356.2 million and Long Fresh passed EUR 1 billion for the first time at EUR 1,009.4 million.
The group employed around 8,600 people on average in AY 24/25 and works across 21 countries, while supplying more than 80 countries; the two figures describe employment and market reach and cannot be interchanged. It sources over 2,600,000 tonnes of fruit and vegetables a year. Its footprint is 35 sites, of which only 12 are production sites in Frozen and Prepared; the other 23 are Fresh service centres.
Several claims that circulate about Greenyard are not supported by its own disclosures. The EUR 50 million IQF freezing investment announced in September 2025 could not be found in any Greenyard or press source; the only IQF item in the filings is routine capex on an IQF grader. A China and Asia revenue figure of about USD 180 million is not disclosed anywhere, and it is inconsistent with the prospectus statement that exposure to sales outside Europe, including the United Kingdom, was less than 5% of sales. Carrefour and REWE relationships exist on Greenyard's own site, but as a partnership arrangement and a letter of intent rather than disclosed supply contracts with values.
Greenyard NV is not a Fortune Global 500 company and never has been. AY 24/25 sales of about EUR 5.36 billion, roughly USD 5.9 billion at an indicative USD 1.10 per euro, are far below the entry threshold of the 2025 Fortune Global 500, where the No. 500 company, Heineken, reported USD 32,249.4 million. Its parent, Garden S.a r.l., is not a Fortune Global 500 member either, and neither is any shareholder group behind it, the Deprez family holdings or Solum Partners LP.
Read More ▼Show Less ▲
Greenyard NV is a Belgian fresh and long-life fruit and vegetable group based at Strijbroek 10, 2860 Sint-Katelijne-Waver, and it was founded in 1983 by Hein Deprez. Its present shape came from the 2015 merger of Univeg, Greenyard Foods and PeatInvest. The group reports in three divisions: Greenyard Fresh for fresh produce sourcing and distribution, Greenyard Frozen for IQF frozen vegetables and fruit, and Greenyard Prepared for added-value and ambient products, with Bakker a Greenyard company and Pinguin a Greenyard frozen brand. The financial year ends on 31 March, so AY 24/25 covers the year ended 31 March 2025.
Greenyard is no longer listed. A voluntary and conditional cash offer at EUR 7.40 per share was made through Garden S.a r.l., a newly incorporated Luxembourg holding company controlled by the founders' Deprez family and supported by Solum Partners LP, a US food and agriculture investment manager. A simplified squeeze-out ran from 14 August to 4 September 2025, 1,362,295 shares representing 2.64% of the company were tendered, all Greenyard shares were automatically delisted from Euronext Brussels on 4 September 2025, and Garden announced on 5 September 2025 that it had reached 100% and paid. The former ticker GREEN and ISIN BE0003765790 no longer trade, and the company remains a naamloze vennootschap under Belgian law, KBO/CBE 0402.777.157.
On 21 May 2025 Greenyard reported AY 24/25 results: reported sales of EUR 5,363.1 million, like-for-like net sales of EUR 5,330.3 million, up 5.1%, adjusted EBITDA of EUR 183.0 million at a 3.4% margin, a net loss of EUR 2.9 million against a EUR 15.2 million profit a year earlier, EPS of minus EUR 0.09, leverage of 1.86x and net financial debt excluding leases of EUR 256.5 million. The board proposed no dividend. Fresh contributed EUR 4,356.2 million and Long Fresh passed EUR 1 billion for the first time at EUR 1,009.4 million.
The group employed around 8,600 people on average in AY 24/25 and works across 21 countries, while supplying more than 80 countries; the two figures describe employment and market reach and cannot be interchanged. It sources over 2,600,000 tonnes of fruit and vegetables a year. Its footprint is 35 sites, of which only 12 are production sites in Frozen and Prepared; the other 23 are Fresh service centres.
Several claims that circulate about Greenyard are not supported by its own disclosures. The EUR 50 million IQF freezing investment announced in September 2025 could not be found in any Greenyard or press source; the only IQF item in the filings is routine capex on an IQF grader. A China and Asia revenue figure of about USD 180 million is not disclosed anywhere, and it is inconsistent with the prospectus statement that exposure to sales outside Europe, including the United Kingdom, was less than 5% of sales. Carrefour and REWE relationships exist on Greenyard's own site, but as a partnership arrangement and a letter of intent rather than disclosed supply contracts with values.
Greenyard NV is not a Fortune Global 500 company and never has been. AY 24/25 sales of about EUR 5.36 billion, roughly USD 5.9 billion at an indicative USD 1.10 per euro, are far below the entry threshold of the 2025 Fortune Global 500, where the No. 500 company, Heineken, reported USD 32,249.4 million. Its parent, Garden S.a r.l., is not a Fortune Global 500 member either, and neither is any shareholder group behind it, the Deprez family holdings or Solum Partners LP.
VerityRank Score
Based on market presence, financial scale, operational capacity, and brand strength.
Quick Facts
Headquarters
Strijbroek 10, 2860 Sint-Katelijne-Waver, Belgium
Founded
1983, founded by Hein Deprez. Greenyard expanded significantly after the 2015 merger of Univeg, Greenyard Foods and PeatInvest. The date of 1987 and the predecessors Univeg and Peltracom given in the research document are wrong: there is no Peltracom in the 2015 merger. (DPCF/KBC Independent Expert Report, 20 June 2025.)
Employees
Approximately 8,600 on average for the financial year ended 31 March 2025, per Greenyard's own Annual Report 2024/2025. The same figure appears in the delisting release of 5 September 2025, which refers to around 8 600 employees operating in 21 countries worldwide, and in the takeover prospectus of 20 June 2025.
Revenue
EUR 5,363.1 million of reported IFRS sales for AY 24/25, the financial year ended 31 March 2025, audited: EBIT EUR 61.3 million, net loss EUR 2.9 million, EPS minus EUR 0.09. Like-for-like sales were EUR 5,330.3 million, up 5.1% on a like-for-like EUR 5,072.4 million in AY 23/24, which is the prior-year like-for-like comparative, not reported revenue and not the AY 24/25 figure. Adjusted EBITDA was EUR 183.0 million, a 3.4% margin; segment sales were Fresh EUR 4,356.2 million and Long Fresh EUR 1,009.4 million. In US dollars this is roughly USD 5.9 billion at an indicative USD 1.10 per euro, an approximate conversion rather than a bank fixing.
Factories
35 sites in total, verified in Greenyard's Annual Report 2024/2025, but they are not all processing plants: 12 production sites in the Frozen and Prepared divisions and 23 Fresh service centres handling distribution, ripening, packing and logistics. Core operations are in Austria, Belgium, Brazil, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Spain, the United Kingdom and the United States. The description of 35 post-harvest and IQF plants in the research document conflates the two site types.
Listing
Delisted. Greenyard shares were automatically delisted from Euronext Brussels on 4 September 2025, and Garden S.a r.l. acquired 100% through a simplified squeeze-out announced 5 September 2025. The former Euronext Brussels ticker GREEN, ISIN BE0003765790, no longer trades, so any listing that still shows GREEN is out of date. The company remains a naamloze vennootschap, a public limited company under Belgian law, registered office Strijbroek 10, 2860 Sint-Katelijne-Waver, KBO/CBE 0402.777.157, and now operates privately.
Categories
Data Sources & Methodology
This corporate profile is compiled from publicly available sources including company annual reports, SEC/regulatory filings, official press releases, and verified third-party industry databases. Financial figures reflect the most recent fiscal year disclosures and are cross-validated across multiple independent references.
VerityRank Score is calculated using a proprietary multi-dimensional model evaluating market presence, financial strength, operational scale, innovation capacity, and brand influence. Individual dimension scores are normalized against industry peers and updated quarterly.
Disclaimer: This profile is for informational purposes only. VerityRank makes no warranties regarding completeness or timeliness. This content does not constitute investment advice or endorsement.
Key references: Official Website , Greenyard Official Website · Annual Report 2024/2025 · Delisting Release (5 Sep 2025) · Fortune Global 500 2025
