
Driscoll's, Inc.
Driscoll's
Driscoll's, Inc. is a privately held American berry company headquartered in Watsonville, California and it is the least transparent company in this ranking, publishing neither financial nor operational data. Its own outside counsel, the law firm Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner, described it on 25 September 2023 as "a fourth-generation family business and the world's largest berry company", which is the only independently verified description of its standing and its lineage. Driscoll's, Inc. is not a Fortune Global 500 company and no parent of the company is one: it is a standalone family business with no controlling shareholder.
The early history is widely repeated but weakly sourced. The dates usually given, 1904 as Banner Berry Farm and 1944 as Driscoll Strawberry Associates, could not be confirmed from any primary source and neither should be treated as established. What is verified is the ownership character: a fourth-generation family business, per the September 2023 note from its outside counsel, with no outside private-equity or institutional equity investor identified in Driscoll's.
Driscoll's trades in fresh berries rather than in processing. Its commercial identity is a single consumer brand applied to strawberries, raspberries, blueberries and blackberries and sold fresh to retail and wholesale customers. Research documents describe a model based on proprietary variety breeding, plant propagation, contracted independent growers and centralised distribution. That description is plausible and consistent with how the category works, but it could not be verified from any company statement or filing, because the company publishes no corporate profile, no grower list and no production data.
Scale is genuinely opaque. Revenue, headcount, production volume, facility count and the number of countries served are all undisclosed, which is why VerityRank records revenue as not disclosed rather than publishing a figure. No audited or company-stated revenue number exists in the public record, and the estimate of about USD 5.0 billion for 2025 that circulates in third-party research is an unverified approximation with no company or filing source. For the same reason no employee count, no facility count and no grower count appear in this profile.
The one major corporate transaction connected to Driscoll's is frequently misreported. On 22 September 2023 Costa Group Holdings (ASX: CGC) entered a scheme implementation agreement with a consortium led by Paine Schwartz Partners and comprising Paine Schwartz-controlled entities, Driscoll's Inc and British Columbia Investment Management Corporation, at A$3.20 cash per share, an equity value of about A$1,496 million and an enterprise value of about A$2,459 million, or roughly US$1.6 billion. Affiliates of Paine Schwartz and of Driscoll's already held about 19.62% of Costa at announcement. Driscoll's was a minority co-investor in that consortium, not the acquirer, and the transaction was an investment made by Driscoll's rather than an investment into Driscoll's.
Two further items that appear in research documents remain unverified and are deliberately not repeated as fact: reported strategic investments by Driscoll's in the berry-picking robotics developer Harvest CROO Robotics and in the indoor vertical-farming company Plenty, and any China-specific revenue figure or Yunnan propagation footprint. Coverage of the company's 2025 and 2026 developments in this verification pass is incomplete, and the disclosure gap, rather than an absence of news, is the main limitation on this profile.
Read More ▼Show Less ▲
Driscoll's, Inc. is a privately held American berry company headquartered in Watsonville, California and it is the least transparent company in this ranking, publishing neither financial nor operational data. Its own outside counsel, the law firm Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner, described it on 25 September 2023 as "a fourth-generation family business and the world's largest berry company", which is the only independently verified description of its standing and its lineage. Driscoll's, Inc. is not a Fortune Global 500 company and no parent of the company is one: it is a standalone family business with no controlling shareholder.
The early history is widely repeated but weakly sourced. The dates usually given, 1904 as Banner Berry Farm and 1944 as Driscoll Strawberry Associates, could not be confirmed from any primary source and neither should be treated as established. What is verified is the ownership character: a fourth-generation family business, per the September 2023 note from its outside counsel, with no outside private-equity or institutional equity investor identified in Driscoll's.
Driscoll's trades in fresh berries rather than in processing. Its commercial identity is a single consumer brand applied to strawberries, raspberries, blueberries and blackberries and sold fresh to retail and wholesale customers. Research documents describe a model based on proprietary variety breeding, plant propagation, contracted independent growers and centralised distribution. That description is plausible and consistent with how the category works, but it could not be verified from any company statement or filing, because the company publishes no corporate profile, no grower list and no production data.
Scale is genuinely opaque. Revenue, headcount, production volume, facility count and the number of countries served are all undisclosed, which is why VerityRank records revenue as not disclosed rather than publishing a figure. No audited or company-stated revenue number exists in the public record, and the estimate of about USD 5.0 billion for 2025 that circulates in third-party research is an unverified approximation with no company or filing source. For the same reason no employee count, no facility count and no grower count appear in this profile.
The one major corporate transaction connected to Driscoll's is frequently misreported. On 22 September 2023 Costa Group Holdings (ASX: CGC) entered a scheme implementation agreement with a consortium led by Paine Schwartz Partners and comprising Paine Schwartz-controlled entities, Driscoll's Inc and British Columbia Investment Management Corporation, at A$3.20 cash per share, an equity value of about A$1,496 million and an enterprise value of about A$2,459 million, or roughly US$1.6 billion. Affiliates of Paine Schwartz and of Driscoll's already held about 19.62% of Costa at announcement. Driscoll's was a minority co-investor in that consortium, not the acquirer, and the transaction was an investment made by Driscoll's rather than an investment into Driscoll's.
Two further items that appear in research documents remain unverified and are deliberately not repeated as fact: reported strategic investments by Driscoll's in the berry-picking robotics developer Harvest CROO Robotics and in the indoor vertical-farming company Plenty, and any China-specific revenue figure or Yunnan propagation footprint. Coverage of the company's 2025 and 2026 developments in this verification pass is incomplete, and the disclosure gap, rather than an absence of news, is the main limitation on this profile.
VerityRank Score
Based on market presence, financial scale, operational capacity, and brand strength.
Quick Facts
Headquarters
Watsonville, California, United States. Watsonville is verified as the head office city; the street address usually quoted as 345 Westridge Dr, Watsonville, CA 95076 could not be corroborated from any primary source and is treated as unverified.
Founded
1904, as Banner Berry Farm, and 1944, as Driscoll Strawberry Associates, are the commonly cited dates, but neither could be confirmed from any primary source, so the founding date is not verified. The only independently verified description of the lineage comes from Driscoll's outside counsel, which described the company on 25 September 2023 as "a fourth-generation family business" - consistent with a long family line, but not establishing either year.
Employees
Driscoll's is privately held and publishes no headcount, so none is disclosed; no company statement, filing or audited report contains an employee figure. The claim of 5,100 to 6,000 employees in the research document could not be traced to any source. Third-party aggregator counts use undisclosed methodology and are not acceptable as a headcount source.
Revenue
Not disclosed. Driscoll's is privately held and files no public accounts, so no audited or company-stated revenue figure exists in the public record. The estimate of about USD 5.0 billion for 2025 that circulates in third-party research is an unverified approximation with no company or filing source and is not published here as a company figure.
Factories
Driscoll's publishes no facility list and no total, so no facility count is disclosed, and no count of propagation sites, pre-cooling hubs or packhouses could be verified from a primary source. The claim that the company operates propagation and pre-cooling bases in Yunnan (Honghe, Xishuangbanna), Mexico, Spain, Morocco and Australia could not be verified and is not stated here as a fact.
Listing
Privately held. Not listed on any exchange.
Categories
Data Sources & Methodology
This corporate profile is compiled from publicly available sources including company annual reports, SEC/regulatory filings, official press releases, and verified third-party industry databases. Financial figures reflect the most recent fiscal year disclosures and are cross-validated across multiple independent references.
VerityRank Score is calculated using a proprietary multi-dimensional model evaluating market presence, financial strength, operational scale, innovation capacity, and brand influence. Individual dimension scores are normalized against industry peers and updated quarterly.
Disclaimer: This profile is for informational purposes only. VerityRank makes no warranties regarding completeness or timeliness. This content does not constitute investment advice or endorsement.
Key references: Official Website , BCLP Advisory Note (25 Sep 2023) · Costa Group ASX Announcement (22 Sep 2023) · Fortune Global 500 2025 · Driscoll's Official Website · TMTPost Report (Chinese-language)
